ALERT!!! ALERT!!!   GEORGIA RNs or RNs who are Georgia Residents working in another state…GEORGIA BECAME A COMPACT STATE 01/01/2018, AND THIS IS INFORMATION YOU NEED TO KNOW:

So “What’s In Your Wallet? Do you have a Georgia RN License…OR…Do you work in an established Compact State, but your primary residence is Georgia? Then, unless you have completed the new process for Georgia’s licensure/ upgrade of licensure, then you need to read the following!

The following information was posted on the Georgia Government site:

The enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC) will be implemented January 19, 2018. Click here for a brief informational video regarding the eNLC by Jim Cleghorn, MA Director of Georgia Board of Nursing

How can I apply for a multi-state license in Georgia?

If you are already licensed as a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse in Georgia and Georgia is your state of residency, you may submit an online application to convert your single state license to a multistate license. To Please click here to access the application to convert your single state license to a multistate license.

If you are not currently licensed in Georgia and your application is received on or after January 19, 2018 it will be evaluated against the eNLC uniform licensure requirements.  Eligible applicants will be granted a multistate license.

What is the enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact?

In 2013, the Georgia Board of Nursing and other members of the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) began to discuss what the optimal licensure model would look like and eventually agreed that revising the current NLC (implemented in 25 states between 2000 and 2016) would be in the best interests of all.  In March of 2015 revisions were completed and in May 2015 a special assembly of delegates representing all BONs (two from each state) approved the enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC).

The eNLC, allows for registered nurses (RNs) and licensed practical/vocational nurses (LPN/VNs) to have one multistate license, with the privilege to practice in their home state and other eNLC states.

Like the NLC, the eNLC increases access to health care, protects patient safety, reduces costs and supports state-of-the-art health care delivery.  It also enhances nurses’ mobility across states and allows nurses to quickly cross state borders when there is a disaster.  The eNLC is also cost-effective, since an organization may share the expenditure of multiple licenses nurses can incur by crossing state lines. It also removes multiple and duplicate regulatory requirements, cutting down costs for nurses.

New provisions to the eNLC (as compared to the original NLC) include uniform license requirements (all states have the same licensure requirements) and state authority to obtain and submit criminal background checks.

In order to receive a multistate license in the eNLC, a nurse must meet the home state’s qualifications, graduate from a board of nursing-approved nursing education program, pass the NCLEX-RN® or NCLEX-PN® Exam, have no active discipline on their license, submit to a criminal background check, have no prior state or federal felony convictions and have a valid Social Security number.

Are current NLC states the same as the eNLC states?

The states that are part of the eNLC are not exactly the same as the original NLC.  If you have an eNLC multistate license, you can only practice in those designated eNLC states.  You will need a single state license issued by every other state in which you plan to practice to continue to deliver care in each of those states.

Click here to view a map showing up to date membership information.

What does the eNLC mean for employers? 

Effective January 19, 2018, your nurses will now be able to practice (in person or by telehealth) in other eNLC states with just one license obtained in their state of residence.  Faculty and military spouses will just need one license to teach or practice across states in the eNLC.  The eNLC is only for registered nurses (RNs) or licensed practical/vocational nurses (LPNs/VNs), not for advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs).

For Additional information about the compact states and enhanced compact states….she the Article: NURSE COMPACT STATES VS ENHANCED NURSE COMPACT STATES Listed on our site.


eNLC Upgrade – Online Application Instructions

Please use the following instructions to apply to upgrade your existing Georgia license to a multistate license.  Do not submit this application if you are not currently licensed by the Georgia Board of Nursing.

To be eligible for a multistate license you must declare Georgia as your primary state of residency and meet the uniform licensure requirements.  If you do not meet the uniform licensure requirements you will not be eligible for a multistate license and your application fee will not be refunded.

Registered nurses and licensed practical nurses with an eNLC multistate license may practice in any eNLC jurisdiction without seeking additional licenses.  A list of states participating in the enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact is available at


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



©2023 Nursing Gateway


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?

Create Account